Senate to vote on defender of a cop killer
  • The Senate is voting on a nominee sent to the Senate by the President to be the head of the Civil Rights post in our Justice Department. Mr. Debo Adegbile's nomination was passed out of the Senate Judiciary Committee on a straight party-line vote of 10-8 on February 6, 2014. The full Senate is holding a vote on Wednesday, March 5, 2014 to advance the nominee to the civil rights post.

    When the nominee was the head of the NAACP’s Legal Defense Fund in 2009, Mr. Adegbile defended self-professed cop killer Mumia Abu-Jamal, who confessed to killing a policeman in Philadelphia in 1981. Many police and law enforcement organizations are opposed to the nominee being promoted to head the civil rights office in DOJ. They include:

     Fraternal Order of Police
     The Major County Sheriffs’ Association
     National Association of Police Organizations
     National Narcotic Officers’ Associations’ Coalition
     National Sheriffs’ Association
     New Jersey State Policemen’s Benevolent Association
     Philadelphia District Attorney R. Seth Williams

    Write your Senator and tell him/her how you feel about this nominee.

    Keep the faith!
  • The Senate vote is over. See how your Senator voted. The "yeas" were Senators that wanted to advance the nominee to head the civil rights office @ DOJ. The "nays" voted not to give the nominee the new job.
    YEAs ---47
    Baldwin (D-WI)
    Begich (D-AK)
    Bennet (D-CO)
    Blumenthal (D-CT)
    Booker (D-NJ)
    Boxer (D-CA)
    Brown (D-OH)
    Cantwell (D-WA)
    Cardin (D-MD)
    Carper (D-DE)
    Durbin (D-IL)
    Feinstein (D-CA)
    Franken (D-MN)
    Gillibrand (D-NY)
    Hagan (D-NC)
    Harkin (D-IA)
    Heinrich (D-NM)
    Hirono (D-HI)
    Johnson (D-SD)
    Kaine (D-VA)
    King (I-ME)
    Klobuchar (D-MN)
    Landrieu (D-LA)
    Leahy (D-VT)
    Levin (D-MI)
    Markey (D-MA)
    McCaskill (D-MO)
    Menendez (D-NJ)
    Merkley (D-OR)
    Mikulski (D-MD)
    Murphy (D-CT)
    Murray (D-WA)
    Nelson (D-FL)
    Reed (D-RI)
    Rockefeller (D-WV)
    Sanders (I-VT)
    Schatz (D-HI)
    Schumer (D-NY)
    Shaheen (D-NH)
    Stabenow (D-MI)
    Tester (D-MT)
    Udall (D-CO)
    Udall (D-NM)
    Warner (D-VA)
    Warren (D-MA)
    Whitehouse (D-RI)
    Wyden (D-OR)

    NAYs ---52
    Alexander (R-TN)
    Ayotte (R-NH)
    Barrasso (R-WY)
    Blunt (R-MO)
    Boozman (R-AR)
    Burr (R-NC)
    Casey (D-PA)
    Chambliss (R-GA)
    Coats (R-IN)
    Coburn (R-OK)
    Cochran (R-MS)
    Collins (R-ME)
    Coons (D-DE)
    Corker (R-TN)
    Crapo (R-ID)
    Cruz (R-TX)
    Donnelly (D-IN)
    Enzi (R-WY)
    Fischer (R-NE)
    Flake (R-AZ)
    Graham (R-SC)
    Grassley (R-IA)
    Hatch (R-UT)
    Heitkamp (D-ND)
    Heller (R-NV)
    Hoeven (R-ND)
    Inhofe (R-OK)
    Isakson (R-GA)
    Johanns (R-NE)
    Johnson (R-WI)
    Kirk (R-IL)
    Lee (R-UT)
    Manchin (D-WV)
    McCain (R-AZ)
    McConnell (R-KY)
    Moran (R-KS)
    Murkowski (R-AK)
    Paul (R-KY)
    Portman (R-OH)
    Pryor (D-AR)
    Reid (D-NV)
    Risch (R-ID)
    Roberts (R-KS)
    Rubio (R-FL)
    Scott (R-SC)
    Sessions (R-AL)
    Shelby (R-AL)
    Thune (R-SD)
    Toomey (R-PA)
    Vitter (R-LA)
    Walsh (D-MT)
    Wicker (R-MS)

    Not Voting - 1
    Cornyn (R-TX)

  • One of my favorite Dem Senators is Manchin (D-WV) He seems to be one of the few that actually has the ability to think and does not seem to be just another sheep.

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!